SMGS Rules – Rail way


Rail transportation within the CIS countries and Baltic States takes place within the framework of the Organization for Cooperation Railway Lines (OSJD), an international intergovernmental organization which was created in 1956. The members consist of all countries in Central Easter Europe, CIS, North Korea, China, Mongolia and Cuba.


The Rules according to which railway transport is carried out is called SMGS rules.


Unlike the CMR-convention, Warsaw Rules and Hague-Visby these rules are only applicable for the countries who are member of the organization.


The rules set out a large number of liability exemptions and administrative hurdles which makes it almost impossible to get any compensation in case of loss, damage or delay. Furthermore the railways only have to answer the claim within 180 days – which means delays in payment.


SMGS-Rules (in Russian)